CE Hall of Fame Class Includes Conn, Ivey, Maloney, Mossberg, Hedy Lamarr

The Consumer Electronics Association this week announced the 2014 class of the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame. The 12 members will join the Hall in November, when the induction will be held in New York for the first time.

The class includes Conn’s founder C.W. Conn, Zoran Corp. cofounder Dr. Levy Gerzberg, Mitek founder and CEO Loyd Ivey, Silicon Image founder and DVI/HDMI pioneer Dr. David Lee, Cowboy Maloney’s Electric City founder Con Maloney, former Zenith Sales president Gerald McCarthy, Wall Street Journal-turned-Recode journalist Walter Mossberg, Pandora founder Tim Westergren, Linksys founder and consumer router pioneers Victor and Janie Tsao, and Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil, who invented spread spectrum and frequency hopping.

“We are excited to welcome this phenomenal class of industry visionaries into the CE Hall of Fame,” CEA President and CEO Gary Shapiro, said in a statement. “These individuals inspire us. Their visions have provided innovative products, services and technologies that improve the lives of consumers around the world and helped construct the foundation for the next generation of breakthroughs and innovations. We are honored to pay tribute to them.”

Chosen by a panel of industry and media professionals at a meeting in February, the class will be inducted at an awards dinner at New York’s Grand Hyatt Hotel on Nov. 10.

The CE Hall of Fame was founded in 2000. See past classes here.

Related Content