CEA Inducts Its 2012 Hall of Fame

Consumer electronics industry pioneers honored

The Consumer Electronics Association inducted a group of industry pioneers into its 2012 CE Hall of Fame last night at the Industry Forum in San Francisco. The new class includes:

Robert Briskman, the co-founder of Satellite CD Radio, now Sirius XM; Richard Citta, a digital television pioneer and former researcher at Zenith who invented an interference-free digital transmission system, Vestigial Side Band (VSB); Bjorn Dybdahl, founder of Bjorn’s Audio Video in San Antonio, Texas; Douglas Engelbart, inventor of the computer mouse; Charlie Ergen, co-founder of DISH/EchoStar; Larry Finley, founder of the International Tape Association (ITA), which fostered quality and ethics standards within the tape industry; Henry and Fansy Gregg, founders of h.h. gregg; In Hwoi Koo, founder of LG; Byung-chull Lee, founder of Samsung; and George Elwood Smith, co-inventor of the CCD Imaging Chip.

Related Content