Universal Remote Control

Universal Remote’s New Approach to Training
November 3, 2006

Training is a huge issue for dealers. And while nothing beats the personal touch, many vendors are looking to online modules to make training more cost efficient and widely accessible. Universal Remote Control is one of the latest to offer online training, announcing four new online multimedia training courses for custom installers. The training courses are part of URC’s Learning Management System and are offered free of charge to authorized URC dealers and installers who visit the URC Control Room. The courses are divided into several sections taking about five to 15 minutes each to complete. They include audio commentaries, video segments and illustrations.

A Remote You Don’t Need to Point
October 25, 2006

Universal Remote Control, Inc. (URC) has introduced the new RF+Pak, which combines the MasterControl RF10 Remote with the PowerBlaster Base Station. The upshot of all this is a remote that can be pointing in any direction and still operate the component you choose. The remote emits a multidirectional RF signal through air and solid objects alike up to 100 feet. So, if you’re in the living room and realize you forgot to turn off the TV in the kitchen, just press a button. And then wonder if you really need a TV in the kitchen. MacroPower and SimpleSound features on

New Gear
March 15, 2004

Products in the Pipeline Belkin Pure AV Interconnects. Available now at varying prices. Belkin is entering the high-end audio/video connector market, aiming to take on big names like Monster and Tributaries. The company's connectors include numerous SKUs in two series, Sapphire and Crystal, and feature speaker wire, stereo RCA, digital coaxial (pictured), optical, subwoofer, composite, component, S-Video, DVI, USB and FireWire (1394). This spring the company will also release power consoles and filters for high-end home theater applications. Call (800) 2-BELKIN or visit www.belkin.com. Bosch Nexxt Laundry Line. Available for $1,119-$1,479 SRP (washers) and $769-879 SRP (dryers). Bosch has been showing a

The Profit And Power In A Universal Remote
February 1, 2004

By John Davis President Universal Remote Control One of the reigning truisms in retail is: Give the customer what he or she wants. And so the driving question then becomes: What is it that the customer wants? To answer this question correctly, we need only look at the industry. The home entertainment market has continued to grow as a result of several influences, not the least of which is the rapid increase in the number of media devices used in the home. As a result, consumers have increased their demand for a simple solution to control all this stuff and eliminate the attendant clutter. So what

Editorial Index
March 1, 2001

Company Web Site Page# Audiovox Communications audiovox.com 46 Belkin belkin.com 20, 47 Canon usa.canon.com 8 Case Logic caselogic.com 48 CellularGuard cellularguard.com 47 Curtis Int'l. Corp. curtis-intl.com 53 Dirt Devil dirtdevil.com 53 Electric Fuel electric-fuel.com 47 Ericsson ericsson.com 46 Federal Warranty fwsc.com 8 Friendly Robotics friendlyrobotics.com 45 GE Appliances geappliances.com 53 GN Netcom gnnetcom.com 47 Glenayre glenayre.com 46 Globalstar USA globalstar.com 46 GoNeo goneo.com 47 Helen of Troy hotus.com 53 Home Director homedirector.com 44 Hoover hoover.com 53 InterAct interactaccessories.com 8 JABRA jabra.com 47 JVC jvc.com 16, 50 Kemper Insurance kemperinsurance.com 8 Kimber Kable kimber.com 20 LEAP leapbatteries.com 50 LG Electronics lgeus.com 53 LG InfoComm lginfocomm.com 46 Monster Cable monstercable.com 20 Motorola motorola.com 46 Nextel nextel.com 46 Novatel Wireless novatelwireless.com 46 Panasonic panasonic.com 46 Phone.com phone.com 46 Plantronics plantronics.com 47 Qualcomm qualcomm.com 46 Rayovac rayovac.com 50 RentMyDVD.com rentmydvd.com 8 Saft saft.alcatel.com 50 Samsung Electronics samsungusa.com 46, 52 Sanyo Energy sanyobatteries.net 50 Sanyo Fisher sanyo.com 53 Service Net servicenetdirect.com 8 Sharp Electronics sharp-usa.com 52 Siemens siemens.com 47 SONICblue sonicblue.com 8 Sunbeam sunbeam.com 53 SMC Corp. smc-corp.com 53 Targus targus.com 48 Terk terk.com 20 Thomson (RCA) rca.com 20 Universal Remote Control universal-remote.com 8 Vanguard 48 Vivitar vivitar.com 48 WebLink Wireless weblinkwireless.com 46